DonateSinn Féin Logo


Top Nav

Conor Murphy MLA

Conor Murphy MLA

Conor Murphy MP | Sinn Féin

In 2005, in a major breakthrough, Conor Murphy became the first Irish Republican in history to take the Newry and Armagh Westminster seat.  Sinn Féin retained this seat in the subsequent 2010 election, increasing the party mandate.  Conor’s role in elected politics began in 1989 when he was elected to Newry & Mourne Council, where he served for 8 years.  In 1998 he was elected to the newly formed Assembly in Stormont, retaining his seat in 2003, 2007 and 2011.

A committed republican all his life, in 1982 Conor was sentenced to 5 years imprisonment for membership of the IRA and possession of explosives.  On his release from prison, he immediately immersed himself in the republican project playing a major role in the negotiations which led to the Peace Process and the signing of the Good Friday Agreement.

Conor Murphy held the position of Minister for Regional Development from 2007 to 2011. During which time he opened a £10 million water treatment facility in Crossmaglen, delivered the multimillion pound Newry Bypass scheme and the £14.6 million new bi-lingual railway station for Newry.